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JURISDICTION 
Citation 

PERMITTED​ ​COMPENSATION 

United​ ​States 
28​ ​U.S.C.​ ​§§​ ​1495,​ ​2513 
 

The​ ​amount​ ​of​ ​damages​ ​awarded​ ​shall​ ​not​ ​exceed​ ​$100,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​12-month 
period​ ​of​ ​incarceration​ ​for​ ​any​ ​plaintiff​ ​who​ ​was​ ​unjustly​ ​sentenced​ ​to​ ​death​ ​and 
$50,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​12-month​ ​period​ ​of​ ​incarceration​ ​for​ ​any​ ​other​ ​plaintiff. 

District​ ​of​ ​Columbia 
D.C.​ ​Code​ ​§§​ ​2-421​ ​to​ ​425 

Upon​ ​a​ ​finding​ ​of​ ​unjust​ ​imprisonment​ ​upon​ ​clear​ ​and​ ​convincing​ ​evidence,​ ​a 
judge​ ​may​ ​award​ ​damages.​ ​Punitive​ ​damages​ ​may​ ​not​ ​be​ ​awarded. 

Alabama 
Ala.​ ​Code​ ​§​ ​29-2-150​ ​​et​ ​seq. 

An​ ​exonerated​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​a​ ​minimum​ ​of​ ​$50,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongfu
incarceration,​ ​available​ ​within​ ​two​ ​years​ ​of​ ​exoneration.​ ​A​ ​new​ ​felony​ ​conviction  
will​ ​end​ ​the​ ​claimant's​ ​right​ ​to​ ​compensation.​ ​The​ ​committee​ ​can​ ​recommend​ ​a 
greater​ ​award​ ​to​ ​the​ ​legislature. 

California 
Cal.​ ​Penal​ ​Code​ ​§§​ ​4900​ ​to 
4906 

An​ ​exonerated​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​$140​ ​per​ ​day​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
incarceration,​ ​available​ ​within​ ​two​ ​years​ ​after​ ​acquittal,​ ​pardon,​ ​or​ ​release. 
Claimant​ ​must​ ​prove​ ​“that​ ​the​ ​crime​ ​with​ ​which​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​was​ ​charged​ ​was​ ​either 
not​ ​committed​ ​at​ ​all,​ ​or,​ ​if​ ​committed,​ ​was​ ​not​ ​committed​ ​by​ ​him​ ​or​ ​her,”​ ​as​ ​well 
as​ ​the​ ​pecuniary​ ​injury​ ​sustained​ ​by​ ​him​ ​or​ ​her​ ​through​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​erroneous 
conviction​ ​and​ ​imprisonment. 

Colorado 
C.R.S.A.​ ​§​ ​13-65-101​ ​​et​ ​seq. 

An​ ​exonerated​ ​person,​ ​or​ ​an​ ​immediate​ ​family​ ​member​ ​of​ ​an​ ​exonerated​ ​person, 
is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​$70,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of​ ​incarceration,​ ​as​ ​well​ ​as​ ​an​ ​additional 
$50,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​that​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​was​ ​incarcerated​ ​and​ ​sentenced​ ​to​ ​execution 
and​ ​$25,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​that​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​served​ ​on​ ​parole,​ ​on​ ​probation,​ ​or​ ​as​ ​a 
registered​ ​sex​ ​offender​ ​after​ ​a​ ​period​ ​of​ ​incarceration.​ ​An​ ​exonerated​ ​person​ ​is 
also​ ​entitled​ ​to:​ ​tuition​ ​waivers​ ​at​ ​state​ ​institutions​ ​of​ ​higher​ ​education​ ​for​ ​the 
exonerated​ ​person​ ​and​ ​for​ ​certain​ ​children;​ ​compensation​ ​for​ ​child​ ​support 
payments​ ​owed​ ​by​ ​the​ ​exonerated​ ​person​ ​that​ ​became​ ​due​ ​during​ ​incarceration 
or​ ​placement​ ​in​ ​state​ ​custody;​ ​and​ ​any​ ​fine,​ ​penalty,​ ​court​ ​costs,​ ​restitution​ ​and 
reasonable​ ​attorney’s​ ​fees​ ​related​ ​to​ ​the​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction.​ ​The​ ​amount​ ​of 
monetary​ ​compensation​ ​awarded​ ​to​ ​an​ ​exonerated​ ​person​ ​shall​ ​not​ ​be​ ​subject​ ​to 
state​ ​income​ ​taxes. 

1 ​ ​Statutes​ ​may​ ​be​ ​edited​ ​or​ ​summarized. 
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Connecticut  
C.G.S.A.​ ​§​ ​54-102uu 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​will​ ​be​ ​awarded​ ​damages​ ​on​ ​the​ ​basis​ ​of​ ​relevant 
factors​ ​presented​ ​to​ ​the​ ​Claims​ ​Commissioner.​ ​The​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person 
must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​two​ ​years​ ​of​ ​either​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​the​ ​dismissal​ ​of​ ​the​ ​complaint. 

Florida  
Florida​ ​Stat.​ ​§​ ​961.01​ ​​et 
seq. 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​individual​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​$50,000​ ​(adjusted​ ​for​ ​inflation) 
annually;​ ​the​ ​amount​ ​of​ ​any​ ​fine,​ ​penalty,​ ​or​ ​court​ ​costs​ ​imposed​ ​and​ ​paid;​ ​and 
the​ ​amount​ ​of​ ​any​ ​reasonable​ ​attorney's​ ​fees​ ​and​ ​expenses​ ​incurred​ ​and​ ​paid​ ​in 
connection​ ​with​ ​the​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction.​ ​Compensation​ ​in​ ​these​ ​forms​ ​may​ ​not 
total​ ​more​ ​than​ ​$2​ ​million.​ ​The​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​individual​ ​is​ ​also​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​a 
waiver​ ​of​ ​tuition​ ​and​ ​fees​ ​for​ ​up​ ​to​ ​120​ ​hours​ ​of​ ​instruction​ ​at​ ​any​ ​career​ ​center, 
college,​ ​or​ ​state​ ​university,​ ​as​ ​well​ ​as​ ​immediate​ ​administrative​ ​expunction​ ​of​ ​the 
person's​ ​criminal​ ​record​ ​resulting​ ​from​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​wrongful​ ​arrest,​ ​wrongful 
conviction,​ ​and​ ​wrongful​ ​incarceration. 

Illinois 
705​ ​ILCS​ ​§​ ​505/8 
 
 
 
Also​ ​see​ ​20​ ​ILCS​ ​§​ ​1015/2 

A​ ​court​ ​shall​ ​make​ ​no​ ​award​ ​in​ ​excess​ ​of​ ​the​ ​following​ ​amounts: 
For​ ​imprisonment​ ​of​ ​5​ ​years​ ​or​ ​less:​ ​no​ ​more​ ​than​ ​$85,350 
For​ ​imprisonment​ ​of​ ​5​ ​to​ ​14​ ​years:​ ​no​ ​more​ ​than​ ​$170,000 
For​ ​imprisonment​ ​of​ ​​ ​14​ ​years​ ​or​ ​more:​ ​no​ ​more​ ​than​ ​$199,150 
Plus​ ​attorney’s​ ​fees​ ​of​ ​up​ ​to​ ​25%​ ​of​ ​the​ ​award. 
Provides​ ​for​ ​job​ ​placement​ ​services​ ​for​ ​those​ ​wrongfully​ ​imprisoned. 

Iowa 
Iowa​ ​Code​ ​§​ ​663A.1 

As​ ​long​ ​as​ ​the​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​did​ ​not​ ​plead​ ​guilty,​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​is 
eligible​ ​for​ ​$50​ ​per​ ​day​ ​of​ ​wrongful​ ​incarceration;​ ​lost​ ​wages​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$25,000​ ​a​ ​year; 
the​ ​amount​ ​of​ ​restitution​ ​for​ ​any​ ​fine,​ ​surcharge,​ ​other​ ​penalty,​ ​or​ ​court​ ​costs 
imposed​ ​and​ ​paid​ ​in​ ​relation​ ​to​ ​the​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction;​ ​and​ ​attorney's​ ​fees. 

Louisiana  
La.​ ​Rev.​ ​Stat.​ ​§​ ​15:572.8 

If​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​has​ ​been​ ​vacated​ ​and​ ​a​ ​petitioner​ ​can​ ​prove​ ​factual​ ​innocence, 
he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​may​ ​be​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​$25,000​ ​year​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful​ ​incarceration, 
with​ ​a​ ​cap​ ​of​ ​$250,000​ ​for​ ​the​ ​physical​ ​harm​ ​and​ ​injury​ ​suffered​ ​by​ ​the​ ​petitioner. 
Courts​ ​may​ ​also​ ​award​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$80,000​ ​for​ ​training​ ​and​ ​educational​ ​opportunities 
or​ ​medical​ ​and​ ​counseling​ ​services​ ​as​ ​compensation​ ​for​ ​the​ ​loss​ ​of​ ​life 
opportunities​ ​resulting​ ​from​ ​the​ ​time​ ​spent​ ​incarcerated. 

Maine  
14​ ​M.R.S.A.​ ​§​ ​8241​ ​​et​ ​seq. 

Any​ ​person​ ​with​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​of​ ​innocence​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$300,000​ ​for​ ​claims 
arising​ ​out​ ​of​ ​a​ ​single​ ​conviction.​ ​​ ​Costs​ ​are​ ​to​ ​be​ ​included​ ​in​ ​the​ ​damages​ ​award. 
Punitive​ ​damages​ ​may​ ​not​ ​be​ ​awarded.​ ​The​ ​exonerated​ ​person​ ​must​ ​file​ ​for 
compensation​ ​within​ ​two​ ​years​ ​of​ ​the​ ​pardon. 

Maryland  
Md.​ ​Code,​ ​State​ ​Fin.​ ​& 
Proc.​ ​§​ ​10-501 

The​ ​Maryland​ ​Board​ ​of​ ​Public​ ​Works​ ​determines​ ​the​ ​compensation​ ​package​ ​for 
any​ ​pardoned​ ​person​ ​whose​ ​conviction​ ​was​ ​in​ ​error,​ ​and​ ​may​ ​grant​ ​a​ ​reasonable 
amount​ ​for​ ​any​ ​financial​ ​or​ ​other​ ​appropriate​ ​counseling​ ​for​ ​the​ ​individual. 

Massachusetts  
M.G.L.A.​ ​258D​ ​§​ ​1​ ​​et​ ​seq. 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​$500,000,​ ​as​ ​well​ ​as 
physical​ ​and​ ​emotional​ ​services,​ ​educational​ ​services​ ​at​ ​any​ ​state​ ​or​ ​community 
college,​ ​and​ ​expungement​ ​of​ ​the​ ​record​ ​of​ ​conviction. 

Minnesota 
M.S.A.​ ​§​ ​611.362 

An​ ​exonerated​ ​individual​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​not​ ​less​ ​than​ ​$50,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of 
imprisonment,​ ​and​ ​not​ ​less​ ​than​ ​$25,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​served​ ​on​ ​supervised 
release​ ​or​ ​as​ ​a​ ​registered​ ​predatory​ ​offender.​ ​In​ ​addition,​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to 
reimbursement​ ​for​ ​all​ ​restitution,​ ​assessments,​ ​fees,​ ​court​ ​costs,​ ​and​ ​other​ ​sums 
paid​ ​in​ ​relation​ ​to​ ​the​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction.​ ​Finally,​ ​an​ ​exonerated​ ​person​ ​can​ ​be 
entitled​ ​to​ ​reimbursement​ ​for​ ​other​ ​economic​ ​damages;​ ​medical​ ​and​ ​dental 
expenses​ ​incurred​ ​as​ ​a​ ​result​ ​of​ ​the​ ​claimant's​ ​imprisonment;​ ​noneconomic 
damages​ ​for​ ​personal​ ​physical​ ​or​ ​nonphysical​ ​injuries​ ​or​ ​sickness​ ​incurred​ ​as​ ​a 
result​ ​of​ ​imprisonment;​ ​any​ ​tuition​ ​and​ ​fees​ ​paid​ ​for​ ​each​ ​semester​ ​successfully 
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completed​ ​in​ ​an​ ​educational​ ​program​ ​or​ ​for​ ​employment​ ​skills​ ​and​ ​development 
training;​ ​paid​ ​or​ ​unpaid​ ​child​ ​support​ ​payments​ ​owed​ ​by​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​that 
became​ ​due,​ ​and​ ​interest​ ​on​ ​child​ ​support​ ​arrearages​ ​that​ ​accrued,​ ​during​ ​the 
time​ ​served​ ​in​ ​prison;​ ​and​ ​reasonable​ ​costs​ ​of​ ​paid​ ​or​ ​unpaid​ ​reintegrative 
expenses​ ​for​ ​immediate​ ​services​ ​secured​ ​by​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​upon​ ​exoneration​ ​and 
release.​ ​There​ ​is​ ​no​ ​limit​ ​on​ ​the​ ​aggregate​ ​amount​ ​of​ ​damages​ ​that​ ​may​ ​be 
awarded;​ ​however,​ ​damages​ ​that​ ​may​ ​be​ ​awarded​ ​for​ ​economic​ ​damages,​ ​tuition 
and​ ​fees,​ ​and​ ​costs​ ​of​ ​reintegrative​ ​expenses​ ​are​ ​limited​ ​to​ ​$100,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of 
imprisonment​ ​and​ ​$50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​served​ ​on​ ​supervised​ ​release​ ​or​ ​as​ ​a 
registered​ ​predatory​ ​offender.​ ​An​ ​individual​ ​must​ ​file​ ​a​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​60​ ​days​ ​of 
exoneration,​ ​unless​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​did​ ​not​ ​receive​ ​the​ ​required​ ​notice​ ​upon 
exoneration,​ ​in​ ​which​ ​case​ ​a​ ​claim​ ​must​ ​be​ ​brought​ ​within​ ​three​ ​years.  

Mississippi 
Miss.​ ​Code​ ​Ann.​ ​§​ ​11-44-1 
et​ ​seq. 

Any​ ​person​ ​whose​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction​ ​was​ ​overturned​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​$50,000​ ​for 
each​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful​ ​incarceration​ ​with​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​$500,000.​ ​The​ ​wrongfully 
convicted​ ​person​ ​must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​three​ ​years​ ​of​ ​exoneration. 

Missouri  
Mo.​ ​Stat.​ ​§​ ​650.058  
 

Persons​ ​determined​ ​to​ ​be​ ​innocent​ ​through​ ​DNA​ ​evidence​ ​are​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​$50​ ​per 
day​ ​of​ ​post-conviction​ ​confinement.​ ​Persons​ ​determined​ ​to​ ​be​ ​actually​ ​innocent 
under​ ​this​ ​chapter​ ​will​ ​also​ ​automatically​ ​be​ ​granted​ ​an​ ​order​ ​of​ ​expungement​ ​of 
all​ ​official​ ​records​ ​all​ ​recordation​ ​of​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​arrest,​ ​plea,​ ​trial​ ​or​ ​conviction. 

Montana  
Mont.​ ​Code​ ​§​ ​53-1-214 

Provides​ ​educational​ ​aid​ ​to​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​persons​ ​exonerated​ ​through 
post-conviction​ ​DNA​ ​testing. 

Nebraska  
Neb.​ ​Rev.​ ​Stat.​ ​§​ ​29-4601​ ​​et 
seq. 

Any​ ​person​ ​with​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​for​ ​innocence,​ ​whose​ ​conviction​ ​was​ ​vacated,​ ​or​ ​whose 
conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​and​ ​remanded​ ​for​ ​a​ ​new​ ​trial​ ​and​ ​no​ ​subsequent 
conviction​ ​was​ ​obtained​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​damages​ ​found​ ​to​ ​proximately​ ​result​ ​from 
the​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction,​ ​with​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​award​ ​of​ ​$500,000. 

New​ ​Hampshire  
NH​ ​Rev.​ ​Stat.​ ​§​ ​541-B:14 

Any​ ​person​ ​found​ ​to​ ​be​ ​innocent​ ​may​ ​receive​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$20,000​ ​for​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her 
wrongful​ ​incarceration. 

New​ ​Jersey  
NJ​ ​Stat.​ ​52:4C-1​ ​​et​ ​seq. 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​either​ ​twice​ ​the​ ​amount​ ​of​ ​their 
income​ ​in​ ​the​ ​year​ ​prior​ ​to​ ​incarceration​ ​or​ ​$50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​incarceration, 
whichever​ ​is​ ​greater,​ ​as​ ​long​ ​as​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​did​ ​not​ ​plead​ ​guilty.​ ​He​ ​or​ ​she​ ​is​ ​also 
entitled​ ​to​ ​receive​ ​reasonable​ ​attorney’s​ ​fees​ ​and​ ​costs​ ​related​ ​to​ ​the​ ​litigation,​ ​as 
well​ ​as​ ​other​ ​relief​ ​such​ ​as​ ​vocational​ ​training,​ ​tuition​ ​assistance,​ ​counseling, 
housing​ ​assistance,​ ​and​ ​health​ ​insurance​ ​coverage​ ​as​ ​appropriate.​ ​The​ ​wrongfully 
convicted​ ​person​ ​must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​two​ ​years​ ​of​ ​exoneration. 

New​ ​York  
NY​ ​Ct.​ ​Cl.​ ​Act​ ​§​ ​8-b 

Any​ ​person​ ​with​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​for​ ​innocence,​ ​whose​ ​conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​or 
vacated,​ ​or​ ​whose​ ​conviction​ ​was​ ​retried​ ​and​ ​no​ ​subsequent​ ​conviction​ ​was 
obtained​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​"damages​ ​in​ ​such​ ​sum​ ​of​ ​money​ ​as​ ​the​ ​court​ ​determines 
will​ ​fairly​ ​and​ ​reasonably​ ​compensate​ ​him."​ ​The​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person 
must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​two​ ​years​ ​of​ ​exoneration. 

North​ ​Carolina  
NC​ ​Gen.​ ​Stat.​ ​§§​ ​148-82​ ​to 
84 

Any​ ​person​ ​with​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​for​ ​innocence​ ​or​ ​who​ ​is​ ​determined​ ​to​ ​be​ ​innocent​ ​of 
all​ ​charges​ ​and​ ​pled​ ​not​ ​guilty​ ​or​ ​nolo​ ​contendere​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​$50,000​ ​for​ ​each 
year​ ​of​ ​wrongful​ ​incarceration​ ​with​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​$750,000.​ ​Compensation​ ​may 
also​ ​be​ ​awarded​ ​for​ ​loss​ ​of​ ​life​ ​opportunities​ ​in​ ​the​ ​form​ ​of​ ​job​ ​skills​ ​training​ ​or 
tuition​ ​and​ ​fees​ ​at​ ​any​ ​public​ ​NC​ ​community​ ​college​ ​or​ ​constituent​ ​institution​ ​of 
The​ ​University​ ​of​ ​North​ ​Carolina.​ ​A​ ​claimant​ ​may​ ​apply​ ​for​ ​job​ ​skills​ ​or​ ​educational 
aid​ ​within​ ​10​ ​years​ ​of​ ​the​ ​claimant's​ ​release​ ​from​ ​incarceration 
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Ohio 
Ohio​ ​Rev.​ ​Code​ ​§​ ​2743.48 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​to​ ​receive​ ​$40,330​ ​per​ ​year​ ​(or​ ​an 
amount​ ​determined​ ​by​ ​the​ ​state​ ​auditor)​ ​in​ ​addition​ ​to​ ​lost​ ​wages,​ ​incarceration 
costs,​ ​and​ ​attorney’s​ ​fees​ ​as​ ​long​ ​as​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​did​ ​not​ ​plead​ ​guilty.​ ​The​ ​claim 
must​ ​be​ ​filed​ ​within​ ​two​ ​years​ ​after​ ​being​ ​exonerated. 

Oklahoma 
Okla.​ ​Stat.​ ​tit​ ​51,​ ​§​ ​154 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​receive​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​$175,000​ ​as 
long​ ​as​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​did​ ​not​ ​plead​ ​guilty. 

Tennessee  
Tenn.​ ​Code​ ​​ ​§​ ​9-8-108  
 
 
Also​ ​see​ ​§​ ​40-30-201​ ​et​ ​seq​. 

Any​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​who​ ​is​ ​exonerated​ ​or​ ​pardoned​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​a 
maximum​ ​of​ ​$1,000,000.​ ​The​ ​claims​ ​board,​ ​in​ ​determining​ ​the​ ​amount​ ​of 
compensation,​ ​shall​ ​consider​ ​the​ ​person's​ ​physical​ ​and​ ​mental​ ​suffering​ ​and​ ​loss 
of​ ​earnings.​ ​The​ ​claim​ ​must​ ​be​ ​filed​ ​within​ ​one​ ​year​ ​of​ ​exoneration. 
Post-Conviction​ ​Defender​ ​Oversight​ ​Commission​ ​Act​ ​of​ ​2011 
A​ ​mends​ ​procedure​ ​related​ ​to​ ​post-conviction​ ​proceedings​ ​under​ ​§​ ​40-30-117​ ​(c). 

Texas 
Tex.​ ​Civ.​ ​Prac.​ ​&​ ​Rem.​ ​Code 
Ann.​ ​§​ ​103.001​ ​​et​ ​seq. 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​$80,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
incarceration,​ ​as​ ​well​ ​as​ ​$25,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​spent​ ​on​ ​parole​ ​or​ ​as​ ​a​ ​registered​ ​sex 
offender. ​ ​The​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​also​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​compensation​ ​for 
child​ ​support​ ​payments,​ ​tuition​ ​for​ ​up​ ​to​ ​120​ ​hours​ ​at​ ​a​ ​career​ ​center​ ​or​ ​public 
institution​ ​of​ ​higher​ ​learning,​ ​and​ ​health​ ​insurance​ ​through​ ​the​ ​Department​ ​of 
Criminal​ ​Justice.​ ​The​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​must​ ​file​ ​for​ ​compensation 
within​ ​three​ ​years​ ​of​ ​exoneration.​ ​The​ ​Department​ ​must​ ​provide​ ​to​ ​each 
wrongfully​ ​imprisoned​ ​person​ ​information​ ​on​ ​how​ ​to​ ​obtain​ ​compensation​ ​and​ ​a 
list​ ​of​ ​nonprofit​ ​advocacy​ ​groups​ ​that​ ​assist​ ​in​ ​filing​ ​claims​ ​for​ ​compensation.​ ​The 
department​ ​must​ ​provide​ ​the​ ​information​ ​either​ ​at​ ​the​ ​time​ ​of​ ​the​ ​release​ ​of​ ​the 
wrongfully​ ​imprisoned​ ​person​ ​or​ ​as​ ​soon​ ​as​ ​practicable​ ​after​ ​the​ ​department​ ​has 
reason​ ​to​ ​believe​ ​that​ ​the​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​compensation. 

Utah  
Utah​ ​Code​ ​§​ ​78B-9-405 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​receive​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​was 
incarcerated,​ ​up​ ​to​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​15​ ​years,​ ​the​ ​monetary​ ​equivalent​ ​of​ ​the 
average​ ​annual​ ​nonagricultural​ ​payroll​ ​wage​ ​in​ ​Utah.​ ​If​ ​a​ ​court​ ​finds​ ​an​ ​individual 
to​ ​be​ ​factually​ ​innocent​ ​as​ ​a​ ​result​ ​of​ ​DNA​ ​testing,​ ​the​ ​court​ ​shall​ ​also​ ​issue​ ​an 
order​ ​of​ ​expungement​ ​and​ ​provide​ ​a​ ​letter​ ​to​ ​the​ ​individual​ ​explaining​ ​that​ ​his​ ​or 
her​ ​conviction​ ​has​ ​been​ ​vacated​ ​on​ ​the​ ​grounds​ ​of​ ​factual​ ​innocence. 

Vermont 
Vt.​ ​Stat.​ ​tit.​ ​13,​ ​§​ ​5572​ ​​et 
seq. 

Any​ ​person​ ​whose​ ​conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​or​ ​vacated,​ ​whose​ ​indictment​ ​was 
dismissed,​ ​who​ ​was​ ​acquitted​ ​after​ ​a​ ​second​ ​or​ ​subsequent​ ​trial​ ​or​ ​who​ ​was 
pardoned​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​damages​ ​between​ ​$30,000​ ​and​ ​$60,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​the 
person​ ​was​ ​incarcerated.​ ​Compensation​ ​may​ ​also​ ​include​ ​economic​ ​damages, 
including​ ​lost​ ​wages​ ​and​ ​costs​ ​incurred​ ​by​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​for​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​criminal 
defense​ ​and​ ​for​ ​efforts​ ​to​ ​prove​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​innocence;​ ​up​ ​to​ ​10​ ​years​ ​of​ ​eligibility 
for​ ​state-funded​ ​health​ ​coverage​ ​equivalent​ ​to​ ​Medicaid​ ​services;​ ​reimbursement 
for​ ​any​ ​reasonable​ ​reintegrative​ ​services​ ​and​ ​mental​ ​and​ ​physical​ ​health​ ​care 
costs​ ​incurred​ ​between​ ​the​ ​claimant’s​ ​release​ ​from​ ​mistaken​ ​incarceration​ ​and 
the​ ​date​ ​of​ ​the​ ​award;​ ​and​ ​reasonable​ ​attorney's​ ​fees​ ​and​ ​costs.​ ​The​ ​wrongfully 
convicted​ ​person​ ​must​ ​file​ ​a​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​three​ ​years​ ​of​ ​the​ ​exoneration. 

Virginia  
VA​ ​Code​ ​Ann.​ ​§§ 
8.01-195.10​ ​to​ ​195.12 

A​ ​wrongly​ ​incarcerated​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​90%​ ​of​ ​the​ ​Virginia​ ​per​ ​capita 
personal​ ​income​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of​ ​her​ ​or​ ​her​ ​incarceration.​ ​In​ ​addition,​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she 
may​ ​receive​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$10,000​ ​for​ ​tuition​ ​for​ ​career​ ​and​ ​technical​ ​training​ ​within​ ​the 
Virginia​ ​community​ ​college​ ​system​ ​contingent​ ​upon​ ​successful​ ​completion. 

Washington A​ ​wrongly​ ​convicted​ ​individual​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​$50,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of 
confinement,​ ​including​ ​time​ ​spent​ ​awaiting​ ​trial.​ ​In​ ​addition,​ ​the​ ​individual​ ​is 
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West's​ ​RCWA​ ​4.100.010​ ​​et. 
seq. 

entitled​ ​tol​ ​$50,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​served​ ​under​ ​a​ ​sentence​ ​of​ ​death;​ ​$25,000​ ​for 
each​ ​year​ ​served​ ​on​ ​parole,​ ​community​ ​custody,​ ​or​ ​as​ ​a​ ​registered​ ​sex​ ​offender; 
compensation​ ​for​ ​child​ ​support​ ​payments​ ​owed​ ​by​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​that​ ​became​ ​due 
and​ ​interest​ ​on​ ​child​ ​support​ ​arrearages​ ​that​ ​accrued​ ​while​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​was​ ​in 
custody;​ ​and​ ​reimbursement​ ​for​ ​all​ ​restitution,​ ​assessments,​ ​fees,​ ​court​ ​costs,​ ​and 
all​ ​other​ ​sums​ ​paid​ ​by​ ​the​ ​claimant,​ ​including​ ​attorney’s​ ​fees​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$75,000. 
Punitive​ ​damages​ ​may​ ​not​ ​be​ ​awarded.​ ​An​ ​action​ ​for​ ​compensation​ ​must​ ​be​ ​filed 
within​ ​three​ ​years​ ​after​ ​the​ ​grant​ ​of​ ​a​ ​pardon,​ ​judicial​ ​relief​ ​and​ ​satisfaction​ ​of 
other​ ​conditions,​ ​or​ ​release​ ​from​ ​custody,​ ​whichever​ ​is​ ​later.​ ​If​ ​an​ ​individual​ ​did 
not​ ​receive​ ​the​ ​required​ ​notice​ ​of​ ​compensation​ ​opportunities​ ​upon​ ​exoneration, 
he​ ​or​ ​she​ ​has​ ​an​ ​additional​ ​twelve​ ​months​ ​to​ ​bring​ ​a​ ​claim. 

West​ ​Virginia  
W.Va.​ ​Code​ ​§​ ​14-2-13A 

If​ ​a​ ​court​ ​finds​ ​that​ ​a​ ​claimant​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​a​ ​judgment​ ​for​ ​unjust​ ​imprisonment, 
the​ ​court​ ​shall​ ​award​ ​damages​ ​in​ ​a​ ​sum​ ​of​ ​money​ ​as​ ​the​ ​court​ ​determines​ ​will 
fairly​ ​and​ ​reasonably​ ​compensate​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​based​ ​upon​ ​the​ ​sufficiency​ ​of​ ​the 
claimant's​ ​proof​ ​at​ ​trial.​ ​Whether​ ​the​ ​damages​ ​fairly​ ​and​ ​reasonably​ ​compensate 
the​ ​claimant​ ​will​ ​depend​ ​upon​ ​the​ ​unique​ ​facts​ ​and​ ​circumstances​ ​of​ ​each​ ​claim. 
The​ ​claimant​ ​shall​ ​bear​ ​the​ ​ultimate​ ​burden​ ​of​ ​proving​ ​all​ ​damages​ ​associated 
with​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​claim. 

Wisconsin  
Wis.​ ​Stat.​ ​§​ ​775.05 

A​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted​ ​person​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​$25,000,​ ​including 
attorney’s​ ​fees.​ ​If​ ​the​ ​Claims​ ​Board​ ​finds​ ​that​ ​the​ ​amount​ ​it​ ​is​ ​able​ ​to​ ​award​ ​is​ ​not 
an​ ​adequate​ ​compensation​ ​it​ ​shall​ ​submit​ ​a​ ​report​ ​specifying​ ​an​ ​amount​ ​which​ ​it 
considers​ ​adequate​ ​to​ ​the​ ​legislature. 
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