
 

State  1 Eligibility Compensation Deadline 

Alabama 
Code​ ​of​ ​Ala.​ ​§29-2-150​ ​et​ ​seq 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony; 

● Incarcerated​ ​as​ ​a​ ​result​ ​of​ ​the 
conviction;​ ​or​ ​jailed​ ​for​ ​two 
years​ ​on​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​charge 
before​ ​having​ ​the​ ​charge 
dismissed​ ​on​ ​grounds​ ​of 
innocence;​ ​and 

● Conviction​ ​is​ ​vacated​ ​or 
reversed​ ​and​ ​the​ ​accusatory 
document​ ​dismissed​ ​on 
grounds​ ​of​ ​innocence,​ ​or 
accusatory​ ​document 
dismissed​ ​on​ ​grounds 
consistent​ ​with​ ​innocence. 

 $50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
imprisonment. ​ ​The​ ​Committee​ ​on 
Compensation​ ​for​ ​Wrongful 
Incarceration​ ​can​ ​recommend 
amounts​ ​above​ ​$50,000​ ​but​ ​the 
excess​ ​must​ ​be​ ​approved​ ​by​ ​the 
legislature. 

Must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​of​ ​exoneration​ ​or​ ​dismissal​ ​of​ ​the 
accusatory​ ​instrument. 

Alaska No​ ​statute   

Arizona No​ ​statute   

Arkansas No​ ​statute   

California 
Calif..​ ​Penal​ ​Code §4900​ ​et​ ​seq. 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence​ ​in​ ​state​ ​prison​ ​or 
county​ ​jail;​ ​and  $140​ ​per​ ​day​ ​of​ ​wrongful 

imprisonment. 
Must​ ​file​ ​for​ ​compensation​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​either​ ​judgment 
of​ ​acquittal​ ​or​ ​pardon,​ ​or​ ​after​ ​release​ ​from​ ​custody. 

1​ ​Original​ ​source:​ ​​http://www.wrongfulconvictionlawyers.com/state-statutes/​.​ ​Review​ ​and​ ​updated​ ​by​ ​NGA​ ​staff.  

http://www.wrongfulconvictionlawyers.com/state-statutes/


● Pardoned​ ​on​ ​the​ ​grounds​ ​of 
innocence,​ ​or​ ​is​ ​innocent 
because​ ​what​ ​s/he​ ​was 
charged​ ​with​ ​was​ ​either​ ​not​ ​a 
crime​ ​or​ ​was​ ​not​ ​committed​ ​by 
him/her. 

Colorado 
C.R.S.​ ​13-65-101​ ​et​ ​seq 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● Reliable​ ​evidence​ ​is​ ​presented 
that​ ​s/he​ ​was​ ​factually 
innocent​ ​of​ ​any​ ​participation​ ​in 
the​ ​crime​ ​at​ ​issue; 

● Didn’t​ ​commit,​ ​attempt​ ​to 
commit,​ ​conspire​ ​to​ ​commit,​ ​or 
solicit​ ​the​ ​commission​ ​of,​ ​the 
crime​ ​at​ ​issue​ ​or​ ​any​ ​crime 
factually​ ​related​ ​to​ ​the​ ​crime​ ​at 
issue; 

● Finding​ ​of​ ​factual​ ​innocence 
can’t​ ​be​ ​based​ ​solely​ ​on 
uncorroborated​ ​witness 
recantation. 

 $70,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
imprisonment,​ ​plus​ ​$50,000​ ​for​ ​each 
year​ ​served​ ​while​ ​sentenced​ ​to 
execution,​ ​plus​ ​$25,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year 
served​ ​on​ ​parole​ ​or​ ​probation​ ​or​ ​on​ ​a 
sex​ ​registry. ​ ​If​ ​the​ ​incarceration 
exceeded​ ​three​ ​years,​ ​the​ ​exoneree 
receives​ ​tuition​ ​waiver​ ​for 
himself/herself​ ​and​ ​any​ ​children 
conceived​ ​or​ ​adopted​ ​before 
incarceration. 

Must​ ​file​ ​for​ ​compensation​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​a​ ​court 
reverses​ ​or​ ​vacates​ ​the​ ​conviction. 

Connecticut 
Conn.​ ​Gen.​ ​Statute​ ​54-102uu 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​crime​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● Conviction​ ​was​ ​vacated​ ​or 
reversed​ ​and​ ​(a)​ ​the​ ​complaint 
was​ ​dismissed​ ​on​ ​grounds​ ​of 
innocence,​ ​or​ ​(b)​ ​the​ ​complaint 

Compensation​ ​is​ ​“at​ ​a​ ​minimum,​ ​but 
may​ ​be​ ​up​ ​to​ ​two​ ​hundred​ ​per​ ​cent​ ​of 
the​ ​median​ ​household​ ​income​ ​for​ ​the 
state​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​such​ ​person​ ​was 
incarcerated,​ ​as​ ​determined​ ​by​ ​the 
United​ ​States​ ​Department​ ​of​ ​Housing 
and​ ​Urban​ ​Development,​ ​adjusted​ ​for 

 Must​ ​file​ ​for​ ​compensation​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​or 
dismissal​ ​of​ ​complaint. 



was​ ​dismissed​ ​on​ ​a​ ​ground 
citing​ ​an​ ​act​ ​or​ ​omission​ ​that 
constitutes​ ​malfeasance​ ​or 
other​ ​serious​ ​misconduct​ ​by 
any​ ​officer,​ ​agent,​ ​employee​ ​or 
official​ ​of​ ​the​ ​state​ ​that 
contributed​ ​to​ ​the​ ​arrest, 
prosecution,​ ​conviction​ ​or 
incarceration. 

inflation​ ​using​ ​the​ ​consumer​ ​price 
index​ ​for​ ​urban​ ​consumers.” 

Delaware No​ ​statute   

District​ ​of​ ​Columbia 
D.C.​ ​Code​ ​§2-421​ ​et​ ​seq. 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​criminal 
offense; 

● Imprisoned; 

● Conviction​ ​has​ ​been​ ​reversed 
or​ ​set​ ​aside​ ​on​ ​the​ ​ground​ ​that 
the​ ​person​ ​is​ ​not​ ​guilty,​ ​or​ ​on 
new​ ​trial​ ​or​ ​rehearing​ ​was 
found​ ​not​ ​guilty,​ ​or​ ​has​ ​been 
pardoned​ ​on​ ​the​ ​grounds​ ​of 
innocence​ ​and​ ​unjust 
conviction;​ ​and 

● Based​ ​on​ ​clear​ ​and​ ​convincing 
evidence,​ ​did​ ​not​ ​commit​ ​any 
of​ ​the​ ​acts​ ​charged​ ​or​ ​the​ ​acts 
or​ ​omissions​ ​constituted​ ​no 
offense​ ​against​ ​the​ ​United 
States​ ​or​ ​the​ ​District​ ​of 
Columbia​ ​and​ ​the​ ​person​ ​did 
not,​ ​by​ ​own​ ​misconduct,​ ​cause 
or​ ​bring​ ​about​ ​his/her​ ​own 
prosecution. 

 Court​ ​determines​ ​fair​ ​and​ ​reasonable 
compensation. 
 
FY18​ ​budget​ ​changes​ ​to​ ​$200,000​ ​per 
year,​ ​prorated​ ​for​ ​partial​ ​years,​ ​with 
$10,000​ ​available​ ​for​ ​securing 
immediate​ ​services​ ​and​ ​a​ ​3​ ​three 
claim​ ​limit.  Unspecified. 



● Not​ ​eligible​ ​if​ ​there​ ​was​ ​a 
guilty​ ​plea,​ ​unless​ ​it​ ​was 
an ​Alford 

Florida 
Fla.​ ​Stat.​ ​961.01​ ​et​ ​seq 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
sentenced; 

● Must​ ​file​ ​a​ ​petition​ ​showing 
that​ ​“verifiable​ ​and​ ​substantial 
evidence​ ​of​ ​actual​ ​innocence 
exists;” 

● Must​ ​not​ ​be​ ​disqualified.  
Disqualification​ ​exists​ ​where 
(1)​ ​before​ ​the​ ​wrongful 
conviction​ ​there​ ​was​ ​a 
conviction​ ​or​ ​guilty/no​ ​contest 
plea​ ​to​ ​a​ ​felony,​ ​or​ ​(2)​ ​during 
the​ ​wrongful​ ​imprisonment 
there​ ​was​ ​a​ ​conviction​ ​or 
guilty/no​ ​contest​ ​plea​ ​to​ ​a 
felony,​ ​or​ ​(3)​ ​during​ ​the 
wrongful​ ​incarceration​ ​the 
person​ ​was​ ​serving​ ​a 
concurrent​ ​sentence​ ​for 
another​ ​felony​ ​that​ ​the​ ​person 
was​ ​not​ ​wrongfully​ ​convicted 
of. 

$50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
imprisonment​ ​(up​ ​to​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of​ ​$2 
million);​ ​up​ ​to​ ​120​ ​hours​ ​of​ ​tuition​ ​at​ ​a 
career​ ​center,​ ​community​ ​college​ ​or 
state​ ​university​ ​and​ ​college​ ​or​ ​state 
university​ ​and​ ​college​ ​or​ ​state 
university;​ ​reimbursement​ ​for​ ​any​ ​fines 
or​ ​costs​ ​imposed​ ​at​ ​the​ ​time​ ​of​ ​the 
wrongful​ ​sentence;​ ​and​ ​payment​ ​of​ ​all 
attorney​ ​fees​ ​incurred​ ​and​ ​paid​ ​in 
connection​ ​with​ ​the​ ​criminal 
proceedings​ ​that​ ​led​ ​to​ ​the​ ​wrongful 
conviction. 

Must​ ​file​ ​petition​ ​for​ ​certification​ ​of​ ​actual​ ​innocence​ ​within​ ​90 
days​ ​after​ ​order​ ​vacating​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​and​ ​sentence 
becomes​ ​final. ​ ​Claim​ ​for​ ​compensation​ ​must​ ​be​ ​filed​ ​within​ ​2 
years​ ​after​ ​court​ ​determines​ ​person​ ​meets​ ​definition​ ​of 
“wrongfully​ ​incarcerated​ ​person.” 

Georgia No​ ​statute   

Hawaii 
2016​ ​Hi.​ ​Act​ ​156 

● Conviction​ ​must​ ​be​ ​reversed 
or​ ​vacated​ ​on​ ​the​ ​grounds​ ​of 
actual​ ​innocence,​ ​or 

 $50,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
incarceration,​ ​and​ ​for​ ​“extraordinary 
circumstances”​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$100,000​ ​in 
additional​ ​compensation. ​ ​Attorneys 
assisting​ ​exonerees​ ​may​ ​not​ ​charge​ ​or 

 Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​is​ ​reversed 
or​ ​vacated​ ​or​ ​the​ ​exoneree​ ​is​ ​pardoned. 



● Pardon​ ​granted​ ​on​ ​grounds​ ​of 
actual​ ​innocence. 

Not​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​compensation​ ​if​ ​the 
state​ ​proves​ ​(1)​ ​the​ ​exoneree​ ​was 
concurrently​ ​serving​ ​a​ ​sentence​ ​for 
another​ ​crime;​ ​(2)​ ​the​ ​exoneree 
committed​ ​perjury​ ​or​ ​fabricated 
evidence​ ​or​ ​induced​ ​another​ ​person​ ​to 
commit​ ​perjury​ ​or​ ​fabricate​ ​evidence​ ​to 
cause​ ​or​ ​bring​ ​about​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​at 
issue;​ ​or​ ​(3)​ ​the​ ​exoneree​ ​solicited, 
conspired,​ ​attempted​ ​to​ ​commit,​ ​or 
assisted​ ​in​ ​the​ ​commission​ ​of​ ​the 
crime​ ​at​ ​issue​ ​or​ ​any​ ​crime​ ​factually 
related​ ​to​ ​the​ ​crime​ ​at​ ​issue. 

receive​ ​more​ ​than​ ​25%​ ​of​ ​the 
compensation. 

Idaho No​ ​statute   

Illinois 
735​ ​ILCS​ ​5/2-702​ ​(petition​ ​for 
certificate​ ​of​ ​innocence) 
705​ ​ILCS​ ​505/8​ ​(compensation) 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
imprisoned; 

● Judgment​ ​of​ ​conviction​ ​was 
reversed​ ​or​ ​vacated,​ ​and​ ​the 
indictment​ ​or​ ​information 
dismissed​ ​(or,​ ​if​ ​a​ ​new​ ​trial 
was​ ​ordered,​ ​either​ ​found​ ​not 
guilty​ ​at​ ​the​ ​new​ ​trial​ ​or​ ​was 
not​ ​retried​ ​and​ ​the​ ​indictment 
or​ ​information​ ​dismissed),​ ​or 
the​ ​statute,​ ​or​ ​application 
thereof,​ ​on​ ​which​ ​the 
indictment​ ​or​ ​information​ ​was 
based​ ​violated​ ​the​ ​Constitution 

Up​ ​to​ ​a​ ​total​ ​of​ ​$85,350​ ​for 
imprisonment​ ​of​ ​5​ ​years​ ​or​ ​less;​ ​up​ ​to 
a​ ​total​ ​of​ ​$170,000​ ​for​ ​imprisonment​ ​of 
14​ ​years​ ​or​ ​less​ ​but​ ​over​ ​5​ ​years;​ ​and 
up​ ​to​ ​a​ ​total​ ​of​ ​$199,150​ ​for 
imprisonment​ ​of​ ​over​ ​14​ ​years.  
Amounts​ ​increase​ ​with​ ​the​ ​Consumer 
Price​ ​Index. ​ ​Also,​ ​attorney​ ​fees​ ​are 
awarded​ ​in​ ​an​ ​amount​ ​not​ ​more​ ​than 
25%​ ​of​ ​the​ ​exoneree’s​ ​award. 

Must​ ​file​ ​petition​ ​seeking​ ​certificate​ ​of​ ​innocence​ ​within​ ​2 
years​ ​after​ ​dismissal​ ​of​ ​indictment​ ​or​ ​acquittal. 



of​ ​the​ ​United​ ​States​ ​or​ ​the 
State​ ​of​ ​Illinois; 

● Innocent​ ​of​ ​the​ ​offenses 
charged​ ​in​ ​the​ ​indictment​ ​or 
information​ ​or​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​acts 
or​ ​omissions​ ​charged​ ​in​ ​the 
indictment​ ​or​ ​information​ ​did 
not​ ​constitute​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​or 
misdemeanor​ ​against​ ​the 
State;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​voluntarily​ ​cause​ ​or 
bring​ ​about​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​own 
conviction. 

Indiana No​ ​statute   

Iowa 
Iowa​ ​Code​ ​663A.1 

● Charged​ ​with​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​or 
aggravated​ ​misdemeanor; 

● Convicted​ ​and​ ​did​ ​not​ ​plead 
guilty​ ​to​ ​the​ ​charge​ ​or​ ​to​ ​any 
lesser​ ​included​ ​offense; 

● Sentenced​ ​to​ ​an​ ​indeterminate 
term​ ​if​ ​the​ ​offense​ ​was​ ​a 
felony​ ​or​ ​to​ ​a​ ​term​ ​of​ ​not​ ​more 
than​ ​two​ ​years​ ​if​ ​the​ ​offense 
was​ ​an​ ​aggravated 
misdemeanor; 

● Conviction​ ​was​ ​vacated, 
dismissed​ ​or​ ​reversed​ ​and​ ​no 
further​ ​proceedings​ ​can​ ​be​ ​or 
will​ ​be​ ​held​ ​based​ ​on​ ​any 
facts/circumstances​ ​that​ ​had 

 $50​ ​per​ ​day​ ​of​ ​wrongful​ ​imprisonment; 
lost​ ​wages​ ​he/she​ ​would​ ​have 
received,​ ​up​ ​to​ ​$25,000​ ​per​ ​year; 
restitution​ ​of​ ​fines​ ​imposed​ ​and​ ​paid, 
attorney​ ​fees​ ​incurred​ ​as​ ​a​ ​result​ ​of 
the​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction;​ ​and​ ​attorney 
fees​ ​for​ ​pursuing​ ​the​ ​claim. 

Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​entry​ ​of​ ​a​ ​court​ ​order 
finding​ ​the​ ​person​ ​to​ ​have​ ​been​ ​wrongfully​ ​imprisoned. 



been​ ​alleged​ ​in​ ​the 
proceedings​ ​that​ ​resulted​ ​in 
the​ ​conviction; 

● Imprisonment​ ​was​ ​solely​ ​on 
the​ ​basis​ ​of​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​that 
was​ ​vacated,​ ​dismissed​ ​or 
reversed; 

● Court​ ​must​ ​find​ ​by​ ​clear​ ​and 
convincing​ ​evidence​ ​that​ ​the 
offense​ ​was​ ​not​ ​committed​ ​by 
the​ ​person​ ​or​ ​was​ ​not 
committed​ ​by​ ​any​ ​person. 

Kansas No​ ​statute   

Kentucky No​ ​statute   

Louisiana 
R.S.​ ​15:572.8 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​crime​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of 
sentence; 

● Conviction​ ​has​ ​been​ ​reversed 
or​ ​vacated; 

● Clear​ ​and​ ​convincing​ ​proof 
demonstrates​ ​the​ ​person​ ​did 
not​ ​commit​ ​the​ ​crime​ ​and​ ​did 
not​ ​commit​ ​any​ ​crime​ ​based 
upon​ ​the​ ​same​ ​set​ ​of​ ​facts​ ​in 
the​ ​original​ ​conviction. 

$25,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of 
wrongful​ ​imprisonment,​ ​not​ ​to​ ​exceed 
a​ ​total​ ​of​ ​$250,000. ​ ​The​ ​court​ ​may 
also​ ​consider​ ​requests​ ​for​ ​payment,​ ​up 
to​ ​an​ ​additional​ ​$80,000,​ ​for​ ​job-skills 
training,​ ​medical​ ​and​ ​counseling 
services,​ ​and​ ​tuition. 
No​ ​compensation​ ​for​ ​times​ ​while 
concurrently​ ​serving​ ​a​ ​sentence​ ​for 
another​ ​crime. Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​of​ ​the​ ​date​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​was 

vacated​ ​or​ ​reversed. 



Maine 
M.R.S.​ ​§8241 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​criminal​ ​offense 
and​ ​served​ ​time; 

● Received​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​from​ ​the 
governor​ ​accompanied​ ​by​ ​a 
written​ ​finding​ ​of​ ​innocence, 
and 

● A​ ​court​ ​finds​ ​the​ ​person​ ​is 
innocent.  Up​ ​to​ ​$300,000​ ​per​ ​wrongful 

conviction. Must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​being​ ​pardoned. 

Maryland 
State​ ​Finance​ ​and​ ​Procurement 
Code​ ​Ann.​ ​§10-501 

● Convicted,​ ​sentenced​ ​and 
confined​ ​for​ ​a​ ​crime​ ​the 
individual​ ​did​ ​not​ ​commit;​ ​and 

● Full​ ​pardon​ ​from​ ​the​ ​governor 
stating​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​has​ ​been 
conclusively​ ​shown​ ​to​ ​be​ ​in 
error. 

 Board​ ​of​ ​Public​ ​Works​ ​determines 
compensation​ ​packages​ ​based​ ​on 
“actual​ ​damages,”​ ​plus​ ​an​ ​amount​ ​for 
“financial​ ​or​ ​other​ ​appropriate 
counseling.”  Unspecified. 

Massachusetts 
ALM​ ​GL.​ ​ch.​ ​258D 

● Convicted​ ​and​ ​served​ ​time; 

● Full​ ​pardon​ ​from​ ​the​ ​governor 
stating​ ​in​ ​writing​ ​a​ ​belief​ ​in​ ​the 
individual’s​ ​innocence, ​or 

● Granted​ ​relief​ ​by​ ​a​ ​court​ ​on 
grounds​ ​that​ ​tend​ ​to​ ​establish 
innocence,​ ​and​ ​(a)​ ​the​ ​relief 
vacates​ ​or​ ​reverses​ ​a​ ​felony 
conviction,​ ​and​ ​the​ ​felony 
indictment​ ​or​ ​complaint​ ​has 
been​ ​dismissed,​ ​or​ ​if​ ​a​ ​new 
trial​ ​was​ ​ordered​ ​the​ ​individual 
either​ ​was​ ​found​ ​not​ ​guilty​ ​or 
was​ ​not​ ​retried​ ​and​ ​the​ ​felony 
indictment​ ​or​ ​complaint​ ​was 

Up​ ​to​ ​$500,000​ ​in​ ​damages,​ ​taking 
into​ ​consideration​ ​the​ ​income​ ​the 
claimant​ ​would​ ​have​ ​earned;​ ​the 
particular​ ​circumstances​ ​of​ ​the 
claimant’s​ ​trial​ ​and​ ​other​ ​proceedings; 
the​ ​length​ ​and​ ​conditions​ ​under​ ​which 
the​ ​claimant​ ​was​ ​incarcerated​ ​and; 
any​ ​other​ ​factors​ ​deemed​ ​appropriate 
under​ ​the​ ​circumstances​ ​in​ ​order​ ​to 
fairly​ ​and​ ​reasonably​ ​compensate​ ​the 
claimant. ​ ​The​ ​damages​ ​may​ ​include 
an​ ​award​ ​of​ ​medical​ ​or​ ​other​ ​health 
services,​ ​and​ ​educational​ ​services 
from​ ​any​ ​state​ ​or​ ​community​ ​college​ ​of 
Massachusetts. 

Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​the​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​grant​ ​of 
judicial​ ​relief. 



dismissed,​ ​and​ ​(b)​ ​at​ ​the​ ​time 
of​ ​the​ ​filing​ ​of​ ​a​ ​claim​ ​for 
compensation,​ ​no​ ​criminal 
proceeding​ ​is​ ​pending​ ​or​ ​can 
be​ ​brought​ ​against​ ​the 
individual​ ​for​ ​any​ ​act 
associated​ ​with​ ​the​ ​felony 
conviction. 

● A​ ​person​ ​is​ ​ineligible​ ​if​ ​he/she 
plead​ ​guilty​ ​to​ ​the​ ​offense​ ​that 
resulted​ ​in​ ​the​ ​wrongful 
conviction. 

Michigan 
MCLS​ ​691.1751​ ​et​ ​seq 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​crime​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● Conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​or 
vacated​ ​and​ ​charges​ ​were 
dismissed​ ​or​ ​on​ ​retrial​ ​the 
person​ ​was​ ​found​ ​not​ ​guilty; 
and 

● New​ ​evidence​ ​demonstrates 
the​ ​person​ ​was​ ​not​ ​the 
perpetrator​ ​and​ ​was​ ​not​ ​an 
accessory​ ​or​ ​accomplice​ ​to​ ​the 
acts​ ​that​ ​were​ ​the​ ​basis​ ​of​ ​the 
conviction​ ​and​ ​resulted​ ​in​ ​a 
reversal​ ​or​ ​vacation​ ​of​ ​the 
conviction,​ ​dismissal,​ ​not​ ​guilty 
finding,​ ​or​ ​pardon. 

 $50,000​ ​for​ ​every​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
incarceration. ​ ​Reasonable​ ​attorney 
fees​ ​may​ ​be​ ​awarded​ ​in​ ​an​ ​amount​ ​of 
up​ ​to​ ​10%​ ​of​ ​the​ ​total​ ​award​ ​or 
$50,000,​ ​whichever​ ​is​ ​less,​ ​and​ ​the 
attorney​ ​is​ ​not​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​receive 
additional​ ​fees​ ​from​ ​the​ ​exoneree. 

 Must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​3​ ​years​ ​after​ ​entry​ ​of​ ​an​ ​order​ ​reversing​ ​or 
vacating​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​and​ ​dismissing​ ​the​ ​charges​ ​or​ ​an 
order,​ ​after​ ​retrial,​ ​finding​ ​the​ ​exoneree​ ​not​ ​guilty. 



Minnesota 
Minn.​ ​Stat.​ ​590.01​ ​et​ ​seq. 
Minn.​ ​Stat.​ ​611.362​ ​(compensation) 

A​ ​person​ ​is​ ​exonerated​ ​if​ ​a​ ​court 
● Vacates​ ​or​ ​reverses​ ​a 

conviction​ ​on​ ​grounds 
consistent​ ​with​ ​innocence​ ​and 
the​ ​prosecutor​ ​dismisses​ ​the 
charges,​ ​or​ ​orders​ ​a​ ​new​ ​trial 
on​ ​grounds​ ​consistent​ ​with 
innocence​ ​and​ ​the​ ​prosecutor 
dismisses​ ​the​ ​charges​ ​or​ ​the 
person​ ​is​ ​found​ ​not​ ​guilty​ ​on 
retrial;​ ​and 

● the​ ​time​ ​for​ ​appealing​ ​the 
court​ ​order​ ​resulting​ ​in 
exoneration​ ​has​ ​expired​ ​or​ ​the 
order​ ​has​ ​been​ ​affirmed​ ​and​ ​is 
final. 

A​ ​person​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​for​ ​compensation​ ​if 
he/she​ ​is​ ​exonerated​ ​and 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​any​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence​ ​in​ ​prison; 

● If​ ​convicted​ ​of​ ​multiple​ ​charges 
arising​ ​out​ ​of​ ​the​ ​same 
incident,​ ​was​ ​exonerated​ ​for 
all​ ​of​ ​those​ ​charges; 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​or​ ​induce 
anyone​ ​to​ ​commit​ ​perjury​ ​or 
fabricate​ ​evidence​ ​to​ ​cause 
the​ ​conviction;​ ​and 

● Wasn’t​ ​serving​ ​time​ ​for 
another​ ​crime​ ​at​ ​the​ ​same 
time. 

 At​ ​least​ ​$50,000​ ​and​ ​not​ ​more​ ​than 
$100,000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
imprisonment​ ​and​ ​between​ ​$25,000 
and​ ​$50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year 
served​ ​on​ ​supervised​ ​release​ ​or​ ​on​ ​a 
registry. ​ ​Compensation​ ​is​ ​based​ ​on 
wage​ ​loss,​ ​injuries​ ​or​ ​sickness 
incurred​ ​as​ ​a​ ​result​ ​of​ ​imprisonment. 

 Must​ ​file​ ​a​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​60​ ​days​ ​after​ ​an​ ​exoneree​ ​receives​ ​an 
order​ ​from​ ​the​ ​court​ ​stating​ ​he/she​ ​is​ ​eligible​ ​for 
compensation. 



● A​ ​person​ ​who​ ​confesses​ ​or 
enters​ ​a​ ​guilty​ ​plea​ ​is​ ​not 
ineligible​ ​if​ ​the​ ​confession​ ​is 
later​ ​found​ ​to​ ​be​ ​false​ ​or​ ​the 
guilty​ ​plea​ ​is​ ​to​ ​a​ ​crime​ ​the 
person​ ​did​ ​not​ ​commit. 

Mississippi 
Miss.​ ​Code​ ​Ann.​ ​11-44-1​ ​et​ ​seq. 

To​ ​be​ ​elig ble​ ​a​ ​person​ ​must​ ​establish: 
● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 

served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● On​ ​grounds​ ​not​ ​inconsistent 
with​ ​innocence:​ ​(a)​ ​He/she 
was​ ​pardoned​ ​and​ ​the​ ​pardon 
says​ ​it​ ​was​ ​based​ ​on 
innocence;​ ​or​ ​(b)​ ​the 
conviction​ ​was​ ​vacated​ ​and/or 
reversed; 

● If​ ​conviction​ ​was 
vacated/reversed,​ ​either​ ​the 
indictment​ ​was​ ​dismissed​ ​or​ ​a 
new​ ​trial​ ​was​ ​held​ ​and​ ​the 
person​ ​was​ ​found​ ​not​ ​guilty; 
and 

● Didn’t​ ​intentionally​ ​waive​ ​any 
appellate​ ​or​ ​post-conviction 
remedy​ ​in​ ​order​ ​to​ ​obtain​ ​the 
wrongful​ ​conviction 
compensation. 

Once​ ​eligible,​ ​to​ ​receive​ ​compensation 
the​ ​person​ ​must​ ​prove: 

 $50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
incarceration​ ​up​ ​to​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of 
$500,000. ​ ​Payment​ ​is​ ​made​ ​at​ ​a​ ​rate 
of​ ​$50,000​ ​per​ ​year. 
Reasonable​ ​attorney​ ​fees​ ​may​ ​be 
awarded​ ​in​ ​an​ ​amount​ ​of​ ​10%​ ​of​ ​the 
amount​ ​awarded​ ​for​ ​preparing​ ​the 
claim,​ ​20%​ ​for​ ​litigating​ ​the​ ​claim​ ​if​ ​it​ ​is 
contested,​ ​and​ ​25%​ ​if​ ​the​ ​claim​ ​is 
appealed. ​ ​The​ ​attorney​ ​is​ ​not​ ​entitled 
to​ ​receive​ ​additional​ ​fees​ ​from​ ​the 
exoneree. Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​3​ ​years​ ​of​ ​the​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​grant​ ​of​ ​judicial 

relief. 



● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● Either​ ​pardoned​ ​(and​ ​the 
pardon​ ​was​ ​based​ ​on 
innocence)​ ​or​ ​the​ ​judgment​ ​of 
conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​or 
vacated​ ​and​ ​dismissed,​ ​and​ ​if 
a​ ​new​ ​trial​ ​was​ ​held​ ​he/she 
was​ ​found​ ​not​ ​guilty; 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​the​ ​felony,​ ​or 
the​ ​acts/omissions​ ​didn’t 
constitute​ ​a​ ​felony;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​or​ ​suborn 
perjury​ ​or​ ​fabricate​ ​evidence​ ​to 
bring​ ​about​ ​the​ ​conviction. 

Missouri 
650.058​ ​R.S.Mo. 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony;​ ​and 

● Must​ ​be​ ​“actually​ ​innocent” 
and​ ​be​ ​exonerated​ ​through 
DNA​ ​testing. 

Anyone​ ​who​ ​receives​ ​money​ ​under​ ​the 
statute​ ​is​ ​prohibited​ ​from​ ​suing​ ​the 
state​ ​over​ ​the​ ​wrongful​ ​conviction. 

 $50​ ​per​ ​day​ ​for​ ​each​ ​day​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
incarceration,​ ​but​ ​cannot​ ​receive​ ​more 
than​ ​$36,500​ ​per​ ​year​ ​in​ ​statutory 
compensation. Unspecified. 

Montana 
53-1-214,​ ​MCA 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​time;​ ​and 

● Conviction​ ​was​ ​overturned 
based​ ​on​ ​DNA​ ​testing​ ​that Educational​ ​aid​ ​at​ ​the​ ​state’s​ ​expense. Benefit​ ​is​ ​available​ ​for​ ​ten​ ​years​ ​after​ ​release​ ​from​ ​prison. 



exonerates​ ​the​ ​person​ ​of​ ​the 
crime​ ​for​ ​which​ ​he/she​ ​was 
convicted. 

Nebraska 
R.R.S.​ ​Neb.​ ​§29-4601​ ​et​ ​seq. 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● Pardoned,​ ​a​ ​court​ ​has​ ​vacated 
the​ ​conviction,​ ​or​ ​the 
conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​and 
no​ ​subsequent​ ​conviction​ ​was 
obtained; 

● Innocent​ ​of​ ​the​ ​crime(s);​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​perjury, 
fabricate​ ​evidence,​ ​or 
otherwise​ ​make​ ​a​ ​false 
statement​ ​to​ ​cause​ ​or​ ​bring 
about​ ​the​ ​conviction​ ​or​ ​the 
conviction​ ​of​ ​another. 

A​ ​guilty,​ ​a​ ​confession,​ ​or​ ​an 
admission,​ ​coerced​ ​by​ ​law 
enforcement​ ​and​ ​later​ ​found​ ​to​ ​be 
false,​ ​does​ ​not​ ​constitute​ ​bringing 
about​ ​his​ ​or​ ​her​ ​own​ ​conviction​ ​of​ ​the 
crime. 

 Up​ ​to​ ​$500,000. 
Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​of​ ​the​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​the​ ​order 
vacating​ ​or​ ​reversing​ ​the​ ​conviction. 

Nevada No​ ​statute   

New​ ​Hampshire 
RSA​ ​541-B:14 

● Innocent​ ​of​ ​the​ ​crime.  Up​ ​to​ ​a​ ​total​ ​of​ ​$20,000​ ​for​ ​time 
“unjustly​ ​served​ ​in​ ​the​ ​state​ ​prison.” Must​ ​file​ ​action​ ​within​ ​3​ ​years​ ​of​ ​the​ ​“date​ ​of​ ​injury.” 



New​ ​Jersey 
N.J.​ ​Stat.​ ​§52:4C-1 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​crime​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​the​ ​crime; 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​or​ ​suborn 
perjury,​ ​fabricate​ ​evidence,​ ​or 
cause​ ​or​ ​bring​ ​about​ ​the 
conviction;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​plead​ ​guilty​ ​to​ ​the​ ​crime 

Neither​ ​a​ ​confession​ ​or​ ​admission​ ​later 
found​ ​to​ ​be​ ​false​ ​constitutes 
committing​ ​or​ ​suborning​ ​perjury, 
fabricating​ ​evidence,​ ​or​ ​causing​ ​or 
bringing​ ​about​ ​the​ ​conviction. 

 Greater​ ​of​ ​(a)​ ​twice​ ​the​ ​exoneree’s 
income​ ​in​ ​the​ ​year​ ​prior​ ​to 
incarceration,​ ​or​ ​(b)​ ​$50,000​ ​for​ ​each 
year​ ​of​ ​incarceration. ​ ​If​ ​the​ ​amount 
exceeds​ ​$1​ ​million​ ​it​ ​will​ ​be​ ​paid​ ​over 
20​ ​years. 

Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​of​ ​being​ ​pardoned​ ​or​ ​released 
from​ ​prison. 

New​ ​Mexico No​ ​statute   

New​ ​York 
NY​ ​CLS​ ​Ct​ ​C​ ​Act​ ​§​ ​8-b 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence; 

● Pardoned​ ​on​ ​the​ ​grounds​ ​of 
innocence​ ​or​ ​the​ ​conviction 
was​ ​reversed​ ​or​ ​vacated​ ​and 
the​ ​complaint/indictment 
dismiss​ ​(or,​ ​if​ ​a​ ​new​ ​trial​ ​was 
ordered,​ ​he/she​ ​was​ ​either​ ​not 
retried​ ​or​ ​was​ ​found​ ​not​ ​guilty); 

● If​ ​conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​or 
vacated,​ ​it​ ​was​ ​on​ ​grounds​ ​of: 
(a)​ ​no​ ​jurisdiction;​ ​(b)​ ​the 

 The​ ​court​ ​of​ ​claims​ ​determines​ ​an 
amount​ ​that’s​ ​fair. 

Claims​ ​must​ ​be​ ​filed​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​a​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​dismissal 
of​ ​the​ ​complaint/indictment​ ​that​ ​led​ ​to​ ​the​ ​conviction. 



judgment​ ​was​ ​procured​ ​by 
duress​ ​or​ ​/misrepresentation 
or​ ​fraud​ ​by​ ​a​ ​prosecutor​ ​or​ ​the 
court;​ ​(c)​ ​material​ ​evidence 
was​ ​false​ ​and​ ​prior​ ​to​ ​the​ ​entry 
of​ ​judgment​ ​was​ ​known​ ​by​ ​the 
prosecutor​ ​or​ ​court​ ​to​ ​be​ ​false; 
(d)​ ​the​ ​defendant​ ​was 
incapable​ ​of​ ​understanding​ ​the 
proceedings;​ ​or​ ​(e)​ ​new 
evidence​ ​has​ ​been​ ​discovered 
or​ ​DNA​ ​evidence​ ​shows​ ​the 
claimant​ ​was​ ​innocent​ ​or​ ​likely 
would​ ​have​ ​made​ ​the​ ​verdict 
more​ ​favorable​ ​to​ ​the​ ​claimant 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​the​ ​act;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​by​ ​his/her​ ​own​ ​conduct 
bring​ ​about​ ​the​ ​conviction. 

North​ ​Carolina 
N.C.​ ​Gen.​ ​Stat.​ ​§148-82​ ​et​ ​seq. 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and​ ​has 
served​ ​time;​ ​and 

● Pardoned​ ​by​ ​the​ ​governor​ ​on 
the​ ​grounds​ ​that​ ​either​ ​the 
crime​ ​wasn’t​ ​committed​ ​at​ ​all 
or​ ​wasn’t​ ​committed​ ​by​ ​the 
claimant, ​or 

● Has​ ​been​ ​determined​ ​to​ ​be 
innocent​ ​and​ ​all​ ​charges​ ​have 
been​ ​dismissed​ ​after​ ​being 
convicted​ ​after​ ​pleading​ ​not 
guilty​ ​or​ ​no​ ​contest. 

$50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
imprisonment,​ ​up​ ​to​ ​maximum​ ​of 
$750,000. ​ ​Also​ ​can​ ​be​ ​awarded​ ​job 
skills​ ​training​ ​for​ ​one​ ​year​ ​and​ ​tuition 
and​ ​fees​ ​for​ ​any​ ​public​ ​North​ ​Carolina 
community​ ​college​ ​of​ ​constituent 
institution​ ​of​ ​the​ ​University​ ​of​ ​North 
Carolina. Must​ ​file​ ​within​ ​5​ ​years​ ​after​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​dismissal​ ​of​ ​charges. 

North​ ​Dakota No​ ​statute   



Ohio 
Ohio​ ​Rev.​ ​Code​ ​§2743.48 

● Found​ ​guilty​ ​of,​ ​but​ ​did​ ​not 
plead​ ​guilty​ ​to,​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​or​ ​a 
lesser​ ​included​ ​offense; 

● Conviction​ ​was​ ​vacated, 
dismissed​ ​or​ ​reversed​ ​on 
appeal,​ ​the​ ​prosecutor​ ​cannot 
or​ ​will​ ​not​ ​seek​ ​any​ ​further 
appeal,​ ​and​ ​no​ ​criminal 
proceeding​ ​is​ ​pending,​ ​can​ ​be 
brought,​ ​or​ ​will​ ​be​ ​brought​ ​for 
any​ ​act​ ​associated​ ​with​ ​the 
conviction;​ ​and 

● After​ ​sentencing​ ​or​ ​during​ ​or 
after​ ​imprisonment,​ ​an​ ​error​ ​in 
procedure​ ​resulted​ ​in​ ​the 
person’s​ ​release​ ​or​ ​it​ ​was 
determined​ ​the​ ​person​ ​either 
didn’t​ ​commit​ ​the​ ​crime​ ​or​ ​the 
crime​ ​wasn’t​ ​committed​ ​by 
anyone. 

To​ ​obtain​ ​compensation,​ ​the​ ​person 
must​ ​file​ ​an​ ​action​ ​to​ ​be​ ​declared​ ​a 
“wrongfully​ ​imprisoned​ ​individual.”  $43,330​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​imprisonment, 

plus​ ​any​ ​lost​ ​wages​ ​and​ ​attorney​ ​fees. 

Must​ ​file​ ​action​ ​in​ ​court​ ​of​ ​claims​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​a​ ​court 
enters​ ​a​ ​determination​ ​that​ ​the​ ​person​ ​is​ ​a​ ​“wrongfully 
imprisoned​ ​individual.” 

Oklahoma 
51​ ​Okla.​ ​St.​ ​§154 

● Received​ ​a​ ​full​ ​pardon​ ​based 
on​ ​a​ ​written​ ​finding​ ​of​ ​actual 
innocence,​ ​or​ ​granted​ ​judicial 
relief​ ​absolving​ ​all​ ​guilt​ ​on 
basis​ ​of​ ​actual​ ​innocence. 

“Actual​ ​innocence”​ ​means 

 Up​ ​to​ ​$175,000. 
Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​1​ ​year​ ​after​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​entry​ ​of​ ​judicial 
relief​ ​based​ ​on​ ​actual​ ​innocence. 



● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​without 
pleading​ ​guilty​ ​to​ ​the​ ​charge​ ​or 
to​ ​any​ ​lesser​ ​included​ ​offense; 

● Imprisoned​ ​solely​ ​on​ ​the​ ​basis 
of​ ​that​ ​conviction;​ ​and 

● Either​ ​pardoned​ ​on​ ​the​ ​basis 
that​ ​he/she​ ​didn’t​ ​commit​ ​the 
crime​ ​or​ ​a​ ​court​ ​found​ ​by​ ​clear 
and​ ​convincing​ ​evidence​ ​that 
he/she​ ​didn’t​ ​commit​ ​the​ ​crime 
and​ ​issued​ ​an​ ​order​ ​vacating, 
reversing​ ​or​ ​dismissing​ ​the 
conviction​ ​and​ ​providing​ ​that 
no​ ​further​ ​proceedings​ ​can​ ​or 
will​ ​be​ ​held. 

Oregon No​ ​statute   

Pennsylvania No​ ​statute   

Rhode​ ​Island No​ ​statute   

South​ ​Carolina No​ ​statute   

South​ ​Dakota No​ ​statute   

Tennessee 
Tenn.​ ​Code​ ​Ann.​ ​§40-27-109 
(exoneration) 
Tenn.​ ​Code​ ​Ann.​ ​§​ ​9-8-108 
(compensation) 

● Must​ ​be​ ​exonerated​ ​by​ ​the 
governor. 

 Up​ ​to​ ​$1,000,000. 
Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​with​ ​the​ ​board​ ​of​ ​claims​ ​within​ ​1​ ​year​ ​after​ ​the 
date​ ​of​ ​exoneration. 



Texas 
Tex.​ ​Gov’t​ ​Code​ ​§501.101 
Tex.​ ​Civ.​ ​Prac.​ ​&​ ​Rem.​ ​Code​ ​chapter 
103 

● Convicted​ ​and​ ​served​ ​at​ ​least 
part​ ​of​ ​the​ ​sentence; 

● Pardoned​ ​for​ ​innocence​ ​or 
granted​ ​habeas​ ​corpus​ ​relief 
based​ ​on​ ​a​ ​finding​ ​of​ ​actual 
innocence,​ ​or 

● Granted​ ​habeas​ ​corpus​ ​relief 
and​ ​(a)​ ​the​ ​state​ ​has​ ​entered 
an​ ​order​ ​dismissing​ ​the​ ​charge 
and​ ​(b)​ ​the​ ​dismissal​ ​order​ ​is 
based​ ​on​ ​a​ ​motion​ ​to​ ​dismiss 
in​ ​which​ ​the​ ​state’s​ ​attorney 
says​ ​no​ ​credible​ ​evidence 
exists​ ​that​ ​inculpates​ ​the 
defendant​ ​and​ ​the​ ​state’s 
attorney​ ​says​ ​he​ ​believes​ ​the 
person​ ​is​ ​actually​ ​innocent. 

$80,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​imprisonment, 
plus​ ​$25,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​for​ ​any​ ​years 
spent​ ​on​ ​parole​ ​or​ ​as​ ​a​ ​registered​ ​sex 
offender. ​ ​Also,​ ​tuition​ ​for​ ​up​ ​to​ ​120 
credit​ ​hours. 

 Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​3​ ​years​ ​after​ ​the​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​habeas 
relief. 

Utah 
Utah​ ​Code​ ​Ann.​ ​§78B-9-401​ ​et​ ​seq 

● Must​ ​establish​ ​factual 
innocence​ ​with​ ​clear​ ​and 
convincing​ ​evidence,​ ​after 
filing​ ​a​ ​petition​ ​stating: 

● Newly​ ​discovered​ ​material 
evidence​ ​exists​ ​that,​ ​if 
credible,​ ​establishes​ ​that​ ​the 
petitioner​ ​is​ ​factually​ ​innocent; 

● The​ ​specific​ ​evidence 
identified​ ​by​ ​the​ ​petitioner​ ​in 
the​ ​petition​ ​establishes 
innocence; 

 Compensation​ ​is​ ​provided​ ​for​ ​each 
year​ ​of​ ​wrongful​ ​imprisonment,​ ​up​ ​to​ ​a 
maximum​ ​of​ ​15​ ​years,​ ​and​ ​is 
calculated​ ​based​ ​on​ ​the​ ​average 
annual​ ​nonagricultural​ ​payroll​ ​wage​ ​in 
Utah​ ​at​ ​the​ ​time​ ​of​ ​the​ ​petitioner’s 
release​ ​from​ ​prison. 

Unspecified;​ ​Petitioner​ ​is​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​relief​ ​only​ ​if​ ​the​ ​petitioner 
filed​ ​within​ ​one​ ​year​ ​after​ ​the​ ​cause​ ​of​ ​the​ ​action​ ​has​ ​accrued. 



● The​ ​material​ ​evidence​ ​is​ ​not 
merely​ ​cumulative​ ​of​ ​evidence 
that​ ​was​ ​known; 

● The​ ​material​ ​evidence​ ​is​ ​not 
merely​ ​impeachment 
evidence;​ ​and 

● Viewed​ ​with​ ​all​ ​the​ ​other 
evidence,​ ​the​ ​newly 
discovered​ ​evidence 
demonstrates​ ​that​ ​the 
petitioner​ ​is​ ​factually​ ​innocent. 

Vermont 
13​ ​V.S.A.​ ​§5572​ ​et​ ​seq. 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​at​ ​least​ ​six​ ​months; 

● Conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​or 
vacated,​ ​the​ ​indictment​ ​was 
dismissed,​ ​or​ ​the​ ​complainant 
was​ ​acquitted​ ​after​ ​a​ ​second 
or​ ​subsequent​ ​trial;​ ​or​ ​the 
complainant​ ​was​ ​pardoned​ ​for 
the​ ​crime​ ​for​ ​which​ ​he​ ​or​ ​she 
was​ ​sentenced; 

● Actually​ ​innocent,​ ​i.e.,​ ​did​ ​not 
engage​ ​in​ ​any​ ​illegal​ ​conduct 
alleged​ ​in​ ​the​ ​charging 
documents;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​fabricate​ ​evidence​ ​or 
commit​ ​or​ ​suborn​ ​perjury 
during​ ​any​ ​proceedings​ ​related 
to​ ​the​ ​crime. 

Between​ ​$30,000​ ​and​ ​$60,000​ ​per 
year​ ​of​ ​imprisonment,​ ​and​ ​may​ ​also 
include​ ​damages​ ​for​ ​lost​ ​wages,​ ​up​ ​to 
10​ ​years​ ​of​ ​health​ ​coverage,​ ​money 
for​ ​reintegration​ ​services​ ​and 
mental/physical​ ​health​ ​care​ ​costs 
between​ ​the​ ​time​ ​of​ ​release​ ​and​ ​the 
time​ ​of​ ​the​ ​award,​ ​and​ ​attorney​ ​fees.  
If​ ​the​ ​person​ ​accepts​ ​the 
compensation​ ​he/she​ ​releases​ ​all 
claims​ ​against​ ​the​ ​state. Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​3​ ​years​ ​after​ ​exoneration. 



Virginia 
Va.​ ​Code​ ​Ann.​ ​§8.01-195.10​ ​et​ ​seq. 

● Conviction​ ​has​ ​been​ ​vacated 
or​ ​pardon​ ​granted​ ​on​ ​the​ ​basis 
of​ ​innocence; 

● Entered​ ​a​ ​not​ ​guilty​ ​plea​ ​or, 
regardless​ ​of​ ​the​ ​plea,​ ​was 
sentenced​ ​to​ ​death,​ ​or 
convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​Class​ ​1​ ​felony, 
a​ ​Class​ ​2​ ​felony,​ ​or​ ​any​ ​felony 
for​ ​which​ ​the​ ​maximum 
penalty​ ​is​ ​imprisonment​ ​for 
life;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​intentionally​ ​contribute 
to​ ​the​ ​conviction. 

An​ ​amount​ ​equal​ ​to​ ​90%​ ​of​ ​the 
inflation-adjusted​ ​Virginia​ ​per​ ​capita 
personal​ ​income​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of 
wrongful​ ​imprisonment. ​ ​20%​ ​of​ ​the 
compensation​ ​is​ ​paid​ ​in​ ​a​ ​lump​ ​sum 
and​ ​the​ ​remaining​ ​85%​ ​is​ ​paid​ ​in 
installments​ ​over​ ​25​ ​years. 
If​ ​convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​after 
compensation​ ​is​ ​awarded,​ ​the 
remaining​ ​amount​ ​is​ ​forfeited. ​ ​Also, 
acceptance​ ​of​ ​compensation​ ​waives 
all​ ​claims. 

Unspecified. 

Washington 
Rev.​ ​Code​ ​Wash.​ ​4.100.010​ ​et​ ​seq. 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and​ ​at 
least​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the​ ​sentence; 

● Not​ ​currently​ ​incarcerated​ ​for 
any​ ​offense; 

● During​ ​the​ ​wrongful 
imprisonment​ ​was​ ​not​ ​serving 
a​ ​concurrent​ ​sentence​ ​for 
another​ ​crime; 

● Pardoned​ ​on​ ​grounds 
consistent​ ​with​ ​innocence,​ ​or 
conviction​ ​was​ ​reversed​ ​or 
vacated​ ​and​ ​the​ ​indictment 
dismissed​ ​on​ ​the​ ​basis​ ​of 
significant​ ​new​ ​exculpatory 
information​ ​(or,​ ​if​ ​a​ ​new​ ​trial 
was​ ​ordered​ ​either​ ​was​ ​found 

 $50,000​ ​per​ ​year​ ​of​ ​wrongful 
confinement​ ​and​ ​an​ ​additional​ ​$50,000 
per​ ​year​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​served​ ​under​ ​a 
sentence​ ​of​ ​death,​ ​plus​ ​$25,000​ ​per 
year​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​served​ ​on​ ​parole​ ​or 
as​ ​a​ ​registered​ ​sex​ ​offender.  
Compensation​ ​also​ ​includes​ ​attorney 
fees​ ​at​ ​10%,​ ​not​ ​to​ ​exceed​ ​$75,000, 
and​ ​counsel​ ​is​ ​not​ ​entitled​ ​to​ ​any 
additional​ ​fees​ ​from​ ​the​ ​claimant. 

 Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​3​ ​years​ ​after​ ​the​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​grant​ ​of 
judicial​ ​relief. 



not​ ​guilty​ ​or​ ​the​ ​claimant​ ​was 
not​ ​retried); 

● Didn’t​ ​engage​ ​in​ ​any​ ​illegal 
conduct​ ​alleged​ ​in​ ​the 
indictment;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​or​ ​suborn 
perjury,​ ​or​ ​fabricate​ ​evidence 
to​ ​cause​ ​or​ ​bring​ ​about​ ​the 
conviction. 

West​ ​Virginia 
W.Va.​ ​Code​ ​§14-2-13a 

● Arrested​ ​and​ ​imprisoned​ ​for​ ​a 
felony,​ ​and​ ​charges​ ​were 
dismissed​ ​when​ ​another 
person​ ​was​ ​subsequently 
charged,​ ​arrested​ ​and 
convicted​ ​of​ ​the​ ​same​ ​felony; 

● Convicted​ ​of​ ​a​ ​felony​ ​and 
served​ ​all​ ​or​ ​any​ ​part​ ​of​ ​the 
sentence;​ ​or 

● Pardoned​ ​on​ ​the​ ​ground​ ​of 
innocence,​ ​or​ ​the​ ​conviction 
was​ ​reversed​ ​or​ ​vacated,​ ​and 
the​ ​indictment​ ​dismissed​ ​(or,​ ​if 
a​ ​new​ ​trial​ ​was​ ​ordered,​ ​was 
found​ ​not​ ​guilty​ ​or​ ​was​ ​not 
retried),​ ​or​ ​the​ ​indictment​ ​was 
based​ ​on​ ​an​ ​unconstitutional 
statute​ ​or​ ​its​ ​application; 

● Didn’t​ ​commit​ ​the​ ​crime,​ ​or​ ​the 
acts​ ​didn’t​ ​constitute​ ​a​ ​felony 
or​ ​misdemeanor​ ​in​ ​West 
Virginia;​ ​and 

 Discretion​ ​of​ ​the​ ​court. Must​ ​file​ ​claim​ ​within​ ​2​ ​years​ ​after​ ​pardon​ ​or​ ​dismissal. 



● Didn’t​ ​cause​ ​or​ ​bring​ ​about​ ​the 
conviction. 

Wisconsin 
Wisc.​ ​Stat.​ ​775.05 

● Clear​ ​and​ ​convincing​ ​evidence 
of​ ​innocence;​ ​and 

● Didn’t​ ​by​ ​bring​ ​about​ ​the 
conviction​ ​by​ ​own​ ​act​ ​or 
omission. 

 Up​ ​to​ ​$5000​ ​for​ ​each​ ​year​ ​of 
imprisonment,​ ​up​ ​to​ ​a​ ​maximum​ ​of 
$25,000. Unspecified. 

Wyoming No​ ​statute 

 


