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BILLS SUPPORTED BY THE FVC THAT PASSED 
 
HB 294/SB 281 – Firearm Safety Act of 2013  
 
Altering the authorization for a person to wear, carry, or transport a handgun to be within certain 
limitations; designate certain firearms as assault weapons, and prohibit, with certain exceptions, a 
person from transporting and assault weapon into the State or possessing, selling, offering to sell, 
transferring, purchasing, or receiving an assault weapon.  
 
 
HB 838/SB 640 – Civil Cases – Maryland Legal Services Fund – Surcharges – 
Repeal of Termination  
 
Repealing the termination date of certain provisions of law altering certain surcharges on certain fees, 
charges, and costs in certain civil cases and requiring a certain informational budget to be prepared 
for the Maryland Legal Services Corporation and submitted to the General Assembly; and generally 
relating to the Maryland Legal Services Corporation Fund. 
 
 
HB 1303/SB 809 – Maryland Legal Services Corporation Funding – Abandoned 
Property Funds  
 
Requiring the Comptroller to distribute specified abandoned property funds each year to the Maryland 
Legal Services Corporation Fund and increases the amount of funds that the Comptroller is required 
to contribute from $500,000 to $3,000,000.  
 
 
SB 1001 – Family Law – Protective Orders – Notification of Service – Sunset 
Extension -  
 
Extending the termination date of certain provisions of law that provide for notice of the service on a 
respondent of certain protective orders; and generally relating to notification of the service of a protective 
order. 
 

  



BILLS SUPPORTED BY THE FVC THAT DID NOT PASS 
 
HB 200 – Criminal Law – First Degree Assault – Strangulation 
 
Prohibiting a person from committing an assault by applying pressure on the throat or neck of another 
person in a certain manner; establishing that a person who violates this Act is guilty of the felony of 
assault in the first degree and on conviction is subject to a certain penalty; and generally relating to 
first degree assault. 
 
 
HB  478/SB 861 – Crimes – Committing a Crime of Violence in the Presence of a 
Minor  
 
Prohibiting a person from committing a certain crime of violence when the person knows or 
reasonably should know that a minor of a certain age is present in a residence; establishing certain 
circumstances under which a minor is present; establishing a certain enhanced penalty for a violation 
of this Act, etc.  
 
 
HB 853/SB 417 – Family Law – Domestic Violence – Permanent Final Protective 
Orders 
 
Requiring a court to issue a permanent final protective order against an individual who is sentenced to, 
instead of who served, a certain term of imprisonment for certain crimes under certain circumstances; 
adding the crime of assault in the second degree to the list of crimes, the commission of which subjects 
an individual to the issuance of a permanent final protective order against the individual under certain 
circumstances; and generally relating to domestic violence and permanent final protective orders.   
 
 
HB 892/SB 731 – Family Law – Protective Orders – Additional Relief 
 
Authorizing a judge, in a final protective order, to order the respondent to remain a specified distance 
away from the residence, place of employment, school, or temporary residence of a person eligible 
for relief.  
 

 
HB 1037/SB 630 – Evidence – Testimony by Spouse – Violation of Protective 
Order  
 
Establishing that the spouse of a person on trial for a violation of a protective order may be compelled 
to testify as an adverse witness if the spouse was the petitioner in the protective order proceeding. 
 
  



 
 
HB 1230/SB 490 – Domestic Violence – Persons Eligible for Relief and Orders to 
Vacate Home  
 
Altering the definition of "person eligible for relief" to include an individual involved in an intimate 
dating relationship with the respondent and an individual who has had a consensual or 
nonconsensual sexual relationship with the respondent, as well as expands the instances in which a 
final protective order may order the respondent to vacate the home immediately. 
 
 

BILLS THE FVC OPPOSED THAT DID NOT PASS 
 
HB 154 – Criminal Procedure – District Court – Stay of Sentence Pending Appeal  
 
Requiring the District Court, if a person is convicted of a crime in District Court, to stay any sentence 
imposed that includes an unserved, nonsuspended period of imprisonment until the time for filing an 
appeal has expired and, if an appeal is filed, during the pendency of the appeal under specified 
circumstances; etc. 
 


